144-Hour Visa-Free Transit

Since January 30th, 2016, the 144-hour visa-free transit policy has been carried out in Shanghai, Jiangsu, and Zhejiang in east China to facilitate international travellers. The policy, aimed at boosting tourism and business in the Yangtze River Delta Region, allows passengers from 51 countries or regions to transit in Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang for no more than 144 hours (six days) without holding a visa.

* As of May 1, 2019, Guangdong province expanded the 144 hour visa exemption policy to cover every international airport in the province – Guangzhou Baiyun, Shenzhen Bao-an, and Jieyang Chaoshan – as well as four railways, eight land entries, and 15 ports. Travelers who obtain a transit visa exemption in Guangdong can travel freely throughout the province for the duration of the exemption.

• 72-Hour Visa-Free Transit:

Passport holders of following the 51 countries can enjoy 72-hours visa-free Transit via Beijing Capital International Airport, Shanghai Pudong Airport, Shanghai Hongqiao Airport, and airports of cities including Chengdu, Chongqing, Shenyang, Dalian, Harbin, Xian, Guilin, Kunming, Hangzhou, Wuhan, Tianjin, Qingdao, Nanjing, Changsha, and Xiamen.

• This 72 hour visa-free transit period begins from the arrival time to the chosen airport.

In order to be eligible, the passengers must provide evidence of a valid passport, flight ticket with a confirmed seat and if necessary, the relative visa to the country to which you will be travelling to after your transit in China. Passengers are required to inform the airline during check-in so they can declare your request to the relative airport custom. Upon arrival, there will be special counters/lanes for passengers under this exemption during immigration, follow the signs and inform the immigration officer of this exemption and they will stamp your passport stating the duration of your stay. If passengers wish to stay longer than 24 hours in China, they will need to register at the local police station within 24 hours of arrival; those who live with friends or family will need to register with the presence of their relatives or friends. Those staying at a hotel does not need to go as the hotel will do it for them. Passengers are only allowed to travel in the city that they have arrived in, they will require a Chinese Visa if they wish to travel to cities other than the one in which they transit. Passengers will have to depart from the same airport that they arrived at, unless you’re in Shanghai, in which case passengers can arrive at Hongqiao International Airport and depart at Pudong International Airport.

• Passengers who holds a passport issued from the following 51 countries can be entitled to a 72 hour visa-free transit period through China:

SchengenAustria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. Switzerland.

Other European Countries: Albania,Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland, Macedonia, Republic of Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, UK, Ukraine.

America: US, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile.

Oceania: Australia, New Zealand.

Asia: Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE, Qatar.